top of page

The Art of Trust

What is trust? What makes someone trustworthy? How do you figure out how to trust yourself? I find that it's hard to even set your goals and think about the future if you cant trust yourself to get there.


Having hopes and dreams are important. Having things to look forward to give a sort of purpose and feeling. You have to continue to have something that you are working towards to better yourself. Whether it’s in your personal or career life, or maybe even both. You can’t let the fear and anxiety of the “what if’s” take over. You will end up forgetting what you are working towards and end up not reaching your goals.


I remember when I was afraid to trust myself and the people around me. I kept on second guessing everything. I felt like someone was always out to get me and I couldn't see what was right in front of my face. I always had a trustworthy friend and a family member but sometimes I took them for granted. I got hurt by someone who I highly respected and I was afraid to trust anyone ever again. I was making mistakes and always angry, negative, and depressed.

When I woke up and saw what kind of person I had become, I ended up getting really upset. I was ashamed that I let someone affect me so much to the point that I had a complete personality change. I became someone that I really didn't like. I found that I had to control every part of my life and I caused myself years of anxiety and stress.

I came across some authors that have really helped me with what I was going through. Gabrielle Bernstein is an author and motivational speaker. She helped me come to terms with myself and how to give control over to a higher power that I believed in- the universe, god, yourself. Whatever it is that helps you get through the rough patches and be able to continue to focus on yourself and your dreams. I feel that I tend to give over to my higher power when I am feeling out of control. When I need inspiration and an extra push in the right direction.


I end up realizing that I am actually trusting myself to make the right decision. To go in the right direction and to achieve what I want to achieve. It’s this practice of letting go of my control when I am feeling completely drowned in fear, overwhelmed to the point that I feel sick to my stomach and doubting every single one of my decisions.

You learn how to trust yourself first. How can you expect to get anywhere in life if you can’t trust yourself to make the right decisions. What if you get so worked up over something so incredibly small and you end up making a fool out of yourself by yelling at the wrong person. It’s never good to make a rash decision, especially when you are being run by your emotions.



After practicing letting go of my control and trusting that the Universe has my back, I was able to become a person that I liked again. Someone that I was proud of and didn't let anyone take advantage of. I felt I have become calmer in certain situations and try to think more about how I am reacting to certain situations. I am learning to trust myself to make right decisions and to become a better and stronger person.


I felt a huge weight lift of my shoulders. A happiness that is hard to come by. Overall a wonderful feeling of happiness because I know I can get through anything and everything will be alright. You have to trust the process, trust what the universe has in store for you. It’s something that will take time to learn. Don’t give up when it seems like it isn’t working, keep on trying!



Thank you for reading this and I hope it helps!

See you all next Sunday!

Love Chelsey Hartgers

ChelseyRaeCreations

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page